HMAS CANBERRA (1) D33 was Commissioned in Clydebank, Scotland, UK on the 9th 0f July 1928 and was sunk by the Japanese Navy off Savo Island on the 9th of August 1942.


HMAS CANBERRA (2) FFG-02 was Commissioned in Seattle, Washington, USA on the 21st of March 1981 and Decommissioning at Fleet Base West, Rockingham Western Australia on the 12th of November 2005.


HMAS CANBERRA (3) LHD 02 is expected to commissioned into the RAN at Fleet Base East in Sydney, Australia in 2014.


HMAS SHROPSHIRE was commissioned into the RAN at Chatham, England on the 20 April 1943 and was decommissioned on the 10 November 1949.


The HMAS CANBERRA - HMAS SHROPSHIRE Association Victoria Division.

Each Anzac Day members proudly march behind the Canberra and Shropshire banners to the Shrine of Remembrance, and muster at the Shropshire Tree in the Shrine grounds, joined by relatives and friends. The names of our members who have died over the previous year are read out, As President,

I say a few words, and we always remember our 84 shipmates who died when Canberra was sunk at the Battle of Savo Island on August 9, 1942.

We move to the Melbourne Naval Centre in Toorak Road West for refreshments.

Our Annual Reunion is always held in October close to the 21st, and the Anniversary of the Battle of Leyte. The Waverley RSL Club is our venue.

Our Committee meets quarterly at the Melboune Naval Centre, and our Shropshire Times newsletter is also published quarterly under the able editorship of Ron Russell, and is keenly sought after.

Current edition of the Shropshire Times Newsletter September 2012

The Association has never charged any fees for membership, previous Committees having raised sufficient funds largely from an annual Ball held in the South Melbourne Town Hall, to maintain our financial position.

We welcome new members from the current RAN.

The Canberra name is perpetuated with the just arrived hull of Canberra 3, at 27,000 tonnes she is the largest ship ever be commissioned in our 101 years of the RAN.

She will fit out at Williamstown and is expected to join the Fleet in 2014,

LCDR Mackenzie "Mac" Gregory RAN (Ret'd)


Executive Committee

President LCDR Mackenzie "Mac" Gregory RAN (Ret'd)
Vice President Darby Munro
Secretary Mr Roy Stephens
Treasurer Mr Ron Strachan


The Victoria Division welcomes new members from the decommissioned HMAS CANBERRA 2 Ships Company.

Point of Contact for membership for the Victorian Division of the Association is the President LCDR Mackenzie "Mac" Gregory RAN (Ret'd)....Email


LCDR Mackenzie "Mac" Gregory RAN (Ret'd)

HMAS CANBERRA - HMAS SHROPSHIRE Association Victoria Division


Ahoy - Mac's Web Log Naval, Maritime, Australian History

LCDR Mackenzie "Mac" Gregory RAN - 1952

Mackenzie "Mac" Gregory has a excellent Website Ahoy - Mac's Web Log Naval, Maritime, Australian History and more

I highly recommend this brilliant Website.

This site is dedicated to all "Who went down to the sea in ships"in World War 2, in whatever capacity they may have served the cause of freedom, but especially to the Eighty Four Officers and Men who died in H.M.A.S. Canberra at the Battle of Savo Island, on the 9th of August, 1942. 

There are currently 2680 articles on the site.

Mac himself is a living Legend in the Naval Community, he survived the HMAS CANBERRA (1) Sinking at Savo Island and went on to serve in HMAS SHROPSHIRE...More

Mac also has a Facebook Page...More


Association Divisions

Western Australia
South Australia - Northern Territory
Australian Capital Territory
New South Wales



HMAS CANBERRA- HMAS SHROPSHIRE Association- Social Networking